The Mala Beads hunt

Last week when I attended Amber’s vinyasa flow II  class we did a little chanting. Not going to lie the whole thing was weird in the beginning a) because I am still a newbie and does not know what it would do for me b) I thought there was a religious aspect, and made me does not want to participate c) I really just wanted to get to the physical part already. But after she explained the purpose of it to the class and the actual chanting closed, it turned out to be fantastic!

Our chant mantra: SA TA NA MA which translates to birth, life, death, rebirth. After chanting 108 times, I felt so relaxed. I get the same feeling after a day spa or retail therapy. I also discovered that after that meditation I was able to do the harder pose. Amber also mentioned that this method also helps protect one’s mind. That over time it should help the practitioner to break habits, focus, clarity, memory, concentration and control of emotions. It all sounds very good to me. So now I am in search of really cool mala beads necklace to go with this practice.

Here are my choices:

$(KGrHqZHJDUE63ZSDFoTBPeI!8j3fQ~~60_12 via MasNeena

$(KGrHqZHJDUE63ZSDFoTBPeI!8j3fQ~~60_12 via Golden Lotus Mala

$(KGrHqZHJDUE63ZSDFoTBPeI!8j3fQ~~60_12via Mala Collective

$(KGrHqZHJDUE63ZSDFoTBPeI!8j3fQ~~60_12 via Poshmark app – LovePrayMala

More info about the chant:

  • SA TA NA MA is so primal that its impact on our psyche is like splitting an atom. The power of his mantra comes from the fact that it rearranges the subconscious mind at the most elementary level. It has the power to break habits and addictions because it accesses the level of the mind where habits are created. – Kundaliniyoga.org
  • Why chant a mantra 108x?  find the answer here

 

Leave a Reply

